• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 301 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Summit Finished

The pattern for Summit is free on knitty.   It was designed by Mandie Harrington and I’m amazed by her story of figuring out the pattern.   It’s lovely to knit.

I am teaching a Knitting Backwards class using this to advertise it.  (See Class button above)  If you love this or entrelac or both, you have to learn to knit backwards.  Otherwise you will be turning the entire work every 11 sts—–tedious.

The pattern was originally knit in raw silk.  When I read the finishing instructions, I ’bout died.  It suggests pinning out each individual wave to block.  That’s way too many pins.  Since I had decided to use Hempathy, I just threw the thing on my ironing board when it was about 8 inches long and ironed the heck out of it.  Yes, the stitches did look a little flat, but as I knit on, the handling must have teased them back up to lovely sts.

This finished piece was ironed to block it, and it drapes beautifully.

Yarn: Elsbeth Lavold Hempathy, US #4 needle.  Only 13 waves, pattern calls for 15.  5 balls of yarn.  I may make myself a scarf version using 7 waves.  It’s a fun, portable knit.  You really only need to count rows at the sides once you train your eye.

It is on display at Charlotte Yarn.

5 Responses

  1. looks beautiful. I think the sample at Rainy Day is made out of pima cotton.

  2. I tried it with some yarn from my stash, but I thought it was too light to drape nicely. I think I’ll use the Hempathy for the scarf I’m planning. After knitting backwards for a while, I really got the hang of it. I couldn’t imagine knitting this without knitting backwards.

  3. I can’t wait to wear it!!!

  4. Try it again on a larger needle. What have you got to lose? You might decide to knit fewer ribs to accomodate the larger gauge.

  5. this is gorgeous. and perfect for a swimmer…it looks like waves of water

Leave a Reply

