• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 307 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Day Out with Liz

Out with Liz to visit wherever I wanted to go.  We went to Mountain Spinnery, but they had packed up and were moving to storage.  They looked as tired as we did when we moved Charlotte Yarn to East Blvd.  No pics.

Then we went to a market for Liz to buy Brett some of his favorite pastries.  I ate no sugar.  No pics.

We spent a good bit of time at Threads and More.  I just love Linda and the shop itself.  I bought a few balls of grey yarn to begin a planned scrumble project.  Linda asked me to let her know if Steve and I should come back because she would like me to teach some classes.  I was honored.  Liz swears we will be back; she has a feeling.  It would be fun to come again for a month or so.

But still no pics.

Then, driving around, sitting at a red light, I spotted this sign.

I broke up laughing.  Do they know what status quo actually means?  Or are they just terribly honest.  The condos looked nice.

Later we went to New Farm to a gallery show and parked across from this modest place.

I wonder who names these things.

We visited an exhibition by some wonderful local fiber artists.  Marion Douglas who works at Threads and More was one of them and her Nuno Felt pieces were just amazing.  Of course, they did not allow me to photograph them, but I will google and try to find you some of her work.  I just wish I had been able to take some classes from her.  Well, maybe when I come back . . .

Here’s a list of all the exhibitors:  Alwyn Bower; Elaine Campbell; Marion Douglas; Di Flint; Helen Forrest; Bernadine Hine; Daphne McKinnon; Cynthia Morgan; Joan Morrison; Susan Pietsch; Fran Robinson.

http://hatdesigns.blogspot.com/ Pic of Marion if you scroll down and some awesome felt work at this exhibit.  The blogger does some great hats.

Other links you should see:

Prudence Mapstone invited me to the December meeting of the Australian Textile Arts and Surface Design Association (ATASDA) here in Queensland as her guest.  I was ill and unable to go.  Today I stumbled on their website and had a peek at what I may have missed.  You must see this work.

Leave a Reply

