• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 306 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Art to Wear from Hong Kong

Here’s the link:  LINK  Hong Kong Fashion Week 2011

Rachel sent this to me and told me to scroll way down for knitwear.  I say you should get a cup of coffee and slowly work your way through all of the pictures.  If you are a Project Runway fan, you’ll have a blast.

What I loved was how they take many fabrics, cut and paste them together, and come out with an elegant classic jacket.  The mix of fabrics is wonderful.  Lots of this is way over the top; some of the ethnic stuff is not intended for the street, but is fun to look at.  The knits are big and drapey and some have the same patchwork look of Maggie Jackson from Ireland.

Some will just make you laugh.  Please scroll far enough to see the girl in the pin striped suit jacket gone modern.  It’s a hoot.  If you sew, you will marvel at how the designers get some of these fabrics to do what they do—stick up, curl, flow.

I just looked at the site this morning and I knew I had to share it.  Thanks to Rachel for thinking of me.  It’s bookmarked to come back to for inspiration.

Speaking of Inspiration!! I’ve added a page to this blog for sharing finished projects shared with me by friends and students.  Please take a look.  It’s pretty bare bones right now, but I hope to learn to format it better.  Anyway, the knitting is good.

One Response

  1. If I were 35 years younger and had the body I had back then plus about a bazillion dollars there are some I really like, some I hated, some that are just plain silly. But all were fun to see.

Leave a Reply

