Traveler, a brioche beret–Free Pattern

Finally!  I have finished the editing of Traveler and can share it with anyone who is interested.

I designed the beret for a beginning brioche class I was teaching.  It is a bottom up pattern because I felt new briochers needed to start on a lot of stitches rather than a fiddly cast on of 4 or 8.  I also wanted to solve the Fit problem that I encounter when trying to knit for others.

I wanted a band on the beret that was more structured than ribbing would be, but that means you almost need to fit it to the head of the wearer.  Hence, no surprise gifts.  I decided to make the band adjustable by the wearer which takes the onus off me.  (So unselfish, I am.)  Anyway, the pattern has a buttonband, a button, but no buttonhole.  The wearer just tries it on and sews on the button where (s)he needs it–through both parts of the band.  (If you don’t know how to sew on a button, well . . .)

Go to the Free Patterns page tab above and download the pdf of the pattern.  Please send me a picture if you knit this.

If you have never knit brioche, please go to Nancy Marchant’s magnificent site where she teaches the stitches and has amazing free patterns.

More later–

Categories: Personal thoughts | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

