• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 306 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

My new baby–iPad 3

New iPad aka iPad 3

This came just as I got home from the Frolic.  I had an original iPad so this was a nice step up. The picture quality is amazing.  As usual they offered to engrave it–an antitheft hope- so I took them up on it.

Now I need to make it some clothes.  The whole thing feels fragile without some kind of padding and those who know me well know I clang and bang a lot.  So to the fabric shelf—-

Batik I painted and stamped

I found this piece, backed it and machine quilted it in a sort of stipple pattern.  Machine quilting is very hard to do well.  It requires many hours of practice.  My theory is I can practice for a year or so and then make something, or I can just make something and accept my skill level.  I am the accepting type.  Besides, who really looks that closely?

Keeping the batik theme I decided to piece a flap.  I remember my grandmother doing crazy quilt blocks on squares of newspaper.  How hard could it be?  I cut a piece of nonwoven interfacing and began.   It’s harder than it looks.  I don’t remember her having trouble hiding raw edges.  Must be something I don’t remember about it.  I just turned under edges when I needed to and when finished, zigzagged them on the machine with pretty thread.

Underside of bag.

I added batik panels on each end of my main fabric to lengthen the bag and tried to put a pocket in the underside of the flap.  The flap technique was an afterthought so the skill level there is shaky but I’m okay with it.

I wanted to add some pop to the top back of the bag.  I found a piece of some stamping practice that uses the same acrylic paints as the main fabric.  I put it atop some real bright batiks and then atop the back panel.  I left the edges raw; batik doesn’t really ravel much.  Check out my quilting–the Alissa Burke messy technique.  It was fun to do and the variegated thread looks pretty good there.

Top and flap

I rather like the effect.  I bought some rectangles to use to hold the strap and some all cotton webbing in a hot pink to make the strap.  Definitely want it to go over my head and carry it on my shoulder.  I think I may add some batik patches to the strap.  Too much hot pink won’t work.

I’ll put up a pic when it is finished.  It’s been a satisfying project.  It will serve the purpose of protecting the iPad and it has my personality.  I did it little bits at a time as I jumped from knitting to spinning to lettering to art journaling to whatever.  Perfect ADD technique.

If you sew, grab some fabric and paint on it.  Stamp on it.  Use a magic marker on it and then make a little bag to carry something.  Don’t plan it, just do it.  See what you get.  If you hate it, send it to me.  I’ll love it.

More later–

One Response

  1. It will be perfect for Boston, Jane!

Leave a Reply

