Surgery over–feeling fine.

Yesterday I had the torn meniscus in my left knee repaired.  Walt Beaver of Orthocarolina did the surgery at Charlotte Surgery on Randolph Road.  Everyone was great and I feel better today than I did before the event.  I am already taking steps on it.  The main thing to deal with is the swelling–such a small thing.  I have lots of pain killers, but haven’t really had pain.  Recovering from the anesthetic is the big deal.

Couldn’t sleep last night—heck, I’d slept a bunch of the day.  Got up and played.  I drew this picture which I just love.  Dave Barry is a favorite observer of life and this quote describes so many of my friends.  Not me, of course.  :)

fine line hobbyI am still knitting on my Viajante.  Wonderfully mindless and pretty yarn.  Pictures later.  Best wishes to all of you who read this site and those who have just stumbled on it.

8 responses to “Surgery over–feeling fine.

  1. Hi Jane
    Sorry to hear you’ve had to have surgery, but glad to hear you’re recovering well. I also have a torn meniscus in my left knee and will have arthroscopic surgery on August 13. Take it easy and be kind to yourself.

    Shelagh Dennis

  2. Now you know I have to say something about hobby and mental illness. Mental illness is far beyond hobby. Hobby is mindless and mental illness is basketweaving. Glad you are doing well and hope you continue to progress. Janelle at Lineweaving acknowledged your receipt of your bookmarks. I told them I would pass it on as you were going into surgery. Everything fine here. Been working on blind doodles. You would love these. No walls, just a continuous string. You can make it whatever size you want and fill it with tangles. Talk to you soon.

  3. Shelagh, this is my second meniscus repair. It is easy surgery and recovery, but you don’t have to let your husband know that right away. Take the pampering. We deserve it.

  4. Dear Jane,
    Been thinking about you much, wondering when your forced vacation was scheduled. You are so upbeat, that I know that this will just be a cog in the wheel. You must remember to take the time to recuperate and make the most of it. Wishing you the best, as always, you are my inspiration.
    Love and best wishes,
    Carol T

  5. Hi Jane,
    So glad the surgery went well. I’m sure the boys (at least the 4-legged ones) are happy to snuggle w you and make your recovery go quickly. Of course I’m sure the other boy is helping by continuing to cook you great meals! Btw, love the ‘hobby’ quote – but let’s be real- we only dream of having an art space that looks that organized! XOXO

  6. I didn’t realize you were having surgery. Glad it went well. Just got home from knit camp. Had a great time as usual. You were missed.

Leave a Reply

