• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 314 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Socks are finished.


Thanks to driving to the beach and back the last two weekends, I finished two pair of socks. The pair above is Brigit designed by Gigi Silvia. Click here.Made jof CTH Supersock on size 1’s. I like this cuff so much I might make these again. I knit both at the same time on one 40″ needle–Magic Loop.

This is my own design highly inspired by one of Cat Bordhi’s new patterns. These socks are made of Crystal Palace’s Maizy, a corn fiber. Used 1’s and knit two at a time on 2 circulars until I could put them on the Magic Loop.
The cuff was knit in Linen St for about an inch before joining. The split is in the center back. I fiddled with some linen and some stockinette for a while and them moved to all stockinette.
As soon as the cuff was long enough to be past my calf muscle, I shaped the cuff by moving into a k1,p1 ribbing which I continued on the heel flap. After I turned the heel I threw in a bit of seed stitch. All of this was just decided on as I knit.

The Maizy yarn feels nice on my foot, but I’m not wild about the colors. I suspect the corn fiber doesn’t take dye well which is why all of the colorways are muted. Don’t know if I’ll use it again.

2 Responses

  1. Beautiful work, as always šŸ™‚

    Aimee

  2. That’s the Sky Sock Architechture isn’t it? That’s what I’m working on now! I started it while listening to the Yarn Harlot. =) Love the cable socks – 2 at once magic loop? Go you!

Leave a Reply

