Mark’s Curvaceous

My friend, Kate, knit this for her son who is in England for a semester. She had the yarn hand dyed by Debbie at Yarns to Dye For. It’s a big, bulky, soft merino that is fabulous to fondle. My photos don’t do it justice. Debbie worked with Kate until the color was perfect–a dark eggplant–lots of black in the purple. He is going to love this.
I tried photographing it on a hand dyed, hand woven piece I bought in Ecuador years ago. I still cherish the memory of the man who wove while sitting on the floor–he actually had a concrete floor. So many of the people we visited only had dirt.
Here’s a slightly different angle–I’m too lazy to go back and tilt the picture.

Look at how well Kate prevented cable flare. I think she added a few rows to the pattern before she did the first cable. Smart move.

This detail shows the effects of the kettle dyeing. I have to get back to that shop. Heaven knows I don’t have enough yarn. Bulky yarn, I mean.

A treat for you—
Some SC quilters found a clever, artsy way to raise money for breast cancer research. These are gorgeous.

2 thoughts on “Mark’s Curvaceous

  1. Valerie

    Hey, Jane!
    Katie just showed me your blogspot and Mark’s great scarf…wow…beautiful stuff you guys all produce…we’re just chillin’ in W-S, getting ready to pop in a movie…later!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment