• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 314 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

V-Day and New on Needles

Valentine’s Day and a gorgeous bouquet from Steve. Lily, gerber daisy, other daisy, roses, chrysanthemum–all favorites of mine. Just so sweet. He was clearly proud of his choices, and I am so grateful–I love fresh flowers.

NEW ON NEEDLES

A brioche stitch shawl knit lengthwise with a steek so I can mindlessly work on it. I will cut the steek, pull out the stitches and have fringe–or weave in the ends and have a different end treatment.

Noro Yuzen, Wool, silk, mohair. Color 1; black, charcoal, grey, teal, yellow-green from Charlotte Yarn.
Brooks Farm Primero–100% mohair. Green ombre from SAFF, 2007.

Size 8 US Kollage SQUARE needles with the softest circular cable you could ever imagine. Ordered from yarnmarket.com.

I’m guessing I’ll use about 500 yards of each yarn for a finished shawl about 77 inches long and 18 wide.

I’m knitting it lengthwise so I will have vertical stripes on my back when I wear it. Always thinking vertical as in “vertically challenged.”

Brioche stitch–it bears repeating–is so rhythmic and fun to knit. Zen like. And I’m not alone in my opinion. See earlier comment.

2 Responses

  1. Jane,
    I was at Charlotte Yarn Sat. and saw your patterns. They look incredible! Congratulations.
    Debra

  2. Ooh nice! But that’s alotta mohair! =P

Leave a Reply

