• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 315 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Tim Gunn would be proud

I went to Anna’s Alterations.

In my sheltered world, alterations were what you did if something was too long. Then I watched Tim Gunn’s series which I miss and discovered that alterations are a way of life. I’ve lost 33 lbs and can’t wear any of my clothes, so I ventured out with my three favorite skirts to Anna’s.

Their system is easy. Just try it on and then step out to the mirrors and onto the box. ( I want my own box to stand tall on) and Eva will pin the item for the seamstresses. What fascinated me was the other people.

A woman of my age was there with two pair of long shorts made of bright colored denim. She was very attractive with a cute figure. Eva pinned out less than half an inch down each side of the shorts. Wow–I would have just worn them.

Another young woman came in with a handful of dresses from TJ Maxx. As she tried each on, she and Eva decided which she would keep –and alter–and which wouldn’t work.

Who knew? Kate, stop laughing.

Obviously there is something to be said for a philosophy of fewer clothes all of which fit well. Maybe there is hope for my favorite Elizabeth pants.

One Response

  1. Oh, such a proud moment — I’ll bet with the alterations you look 40 lbs thinner!
    See, we are always learning something …. even at our ages! 🙂

Leave a Reply

