• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 315 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

OTN-Top down custom shell

The custom shell class ends this week.  I have had so much fun.  Many of the students begin a little shell-shocked that they will knit without an exact, line by line pattern.  My big treat is when I hear things like “Well, if the neck is a little low, I’ll just do a few extra rows of trim.”  As they learn the great forgiving-ness (a word?) of knitting, they relax and truly enjoy the process.  I love that part.

My own shell is progressing.  I’ve added bust dartsshort row bust dart

about 12 rows of short rows–or 6 if you wish.

I also added some shaping at the sides above the waist.side decreases

I use the markers to indicate where.  If I write down the shaping, I sometimes lose my notes.  The markers never lie. Next I will place some vertical darts  under the bust to remove some excess fabric from the front–which is broader than the back (Do you know any woman who is the same size across the back as across the front?).

Then I have to decide again.  Do I just continue to the botton?  Do I add a bunch of ribbing of some kind.  Lace?”  Stripes?  Who knows?  Certainly not me.

Finished the second Blue Sock today while Steve was having his colonoscopy.  All went well; he’s hysterical on Versed.  I think the next pair of socks will be for him.  Happy Memorial Day to all.  Thanks to the troops.

Leave a Reply

