• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 314 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Unvention? Reversible pickups

reversible pickup all

I hesitate to call this NEW.  Last time I did that I discovered notes about the technique from 50 years ago.  But I did ask myself a “What if?” and I like my answer.

Picking up stitches and knitting off in a different direction, pattern, coor, whatever–makes knitting even more fun for me.  I love modular knitting, but I hate having to keep up with which is the right side. (This begs the question of who cares, but that’s not productive to my point.) The issue was how to pick up without leaving a ridge on either side of the work.  Reversible pickup.

Here’s how I did it.

Pick up the first st kwise as you always do.  Pick up the second st from the pwise.  Swing your needle to the back of the work and stab it through the edge to the front.  Yarnover and return that loop out the back.  Now a word—

wrap the yarnover either way around the needle.   Do what is easiest to get the loop pulled back.  Look at your picked up st. If it is sitting backwards on the needle, ignore it.  When you work back to that place on the next row, just knit it through the back loop.

Alternate the knits and purls and when you knit the first row, the ridge effects will be evenly distributed on each side of the work and will look the same on both sides.

This is a swatch that now doubles as a coaster.  Give it a try.reversible pickup2

Other side

reversible pickup1

One Response

  1. Nice! It seems so obvious a solution and yet, I’ve never read this idea before. Nice!

Leave a Reply

