• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 314 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Rivendell from Eclectic Sole

My joyous knitting spree includes a pair of Rivendell socks from Janel Laidman’s book The Eclectic Sole.  Rivendel BeautyI’m using Louet’s sock yarn.  The color is a soft, mustardy gold.  I bought this yarn years ago from Candace Eisner Strick.  It was specifically earmarked for twisted st socks and here it is.

Too bad I forgot that I used some of it to make heels and toes on another pair of socks.  I remembered as I was finishing the second cuff and clearly understood I didn’t have enough yarn to finish the socks for Steve.

A design opportunity.  I can try to find some more yarn.  Who among us thinks that it will match?  Hands?  Hands?  Me, neither.

I can use a different yarn for the part of the sock that will be in his shoe.  He really won’t mind that, but it does leave a strange taste in my skill set.

I can think up something really clever to solve the problem.

If you have any clever ideas, please forward them.  I’m a bit short.  But I still love the pattern.  It’s not too fiddly but keeps you interested.

2 Responses

  1. Do you think you’d have enough to end the main color in a V shape on the top of the foot and introduce the new color at the heel flap? Hmm…still thinkng…

  2. The obvious and unimaginative…get the same yarn, contrasting color for the heel and toe.

    Or you could pick a point on the foot where you stripe two yarns together with gradually wider stripes then gradually fade into a solid toe of either color

Leave a Reply

