• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 315 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Ode to Jay

Remi is planning a Knitalong of the Great American Aran Afghan and I will be teaching some of the squares.  My first sample square is designed by my friend Jay Campbell.  It has always been my favorite in the book.Campbell center detail

I had so much fun knitting this square that I bought extra yarn to allow me to knit a full afghan if I decide to do that.  I’m not as pleased with this needle choice so I will reknit it with a size 5, and use this square as the base for a pillow.

I like that the squares are so versatile.  You can make an afghan or pillows or bags;  I think one square would make the center motif of a killer cropped jacket back.  All of a sudden I have the Aran bug.Campbell1

Campbell closeup

Campbell corner detail

Campbell unblocked1Unblocked.

2 Responses

  1. That block is gorgeous!!!!

  2. If you decide not to make this into a pillow I can see it as wall art at my house. I love the design.

Leave a Reply

