• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 314 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Beginners are Beautiful

Remember when I said I wanted to teach some beginning knitting again.  Just for the thrill of seeing eyes light up.  Well, I got to do just that Sunday.

Christina found me via the blog and asked me to teach a group from her office.  She’s looking for knit buddies at work and decided to create them.  We got together at the shop on a closed Sunday and had a blast.  Cindy had knit before and was just remembering as was Ruth, but the others were newbies. 

I got to tell stories I hadn’t told in years and play coach and cheerleader.  That’s the most fun part of teaching beginners—helping them believe.  Then we shopped for projects.  Remi dropped by and helped with the shopping, so they got to meet her as well.  I got them all started on their selections and I know Christina will encourage and help them. 

Stephanie even thought she might get together another group which excited me.  I knew I had missed this experience and I am really grateful to have had the chance to bring some new folks into our obsession.

Leave a Reply

