• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 315 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Grecian Edge

Joni gave me alpaca, Georgia alpaca at that.  It has one ply of natural black and one of white and it is as soft as freshly churned butter.

I started a design-it-on-the-needles raglan shaped capelette.  Alpaca is too hot for me to wear as a sweater and a capelette seemed about right.  Besides, I wanted to explore how the shaping would work.  I knitted whatever stitch pattern I felt like until I got bored and then I knit a different pattern.  Once it was long enough, I decided it had to have a special finishing at the bottom.  But I didn’t know what that would be.  I blocked it and hung it on my dress form, hoping for inspiration.

On my fall cruise I had seen Nicky Epstein showing someone else how to do an edging from one of her books and it reminded me of a picture I once took in Greece of a sculpture wearing a shawl.  Yeah, we’re talking a marble shawl here.That shawl edging had a sinewy, snakelike feel to it and the first thing I said when I saw it was, “I can knit that!”

Well, I have knitted it.  I think it really looks clever.  If I were seeing it for the first time, my words would be “How did you do that?”  In anticipation of you feeling the same way, I’ve put together a mini-tutorial.

I hope you try this and share pictures with me.

One Response

  1. Absolutely lovely! And thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

