• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 314 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

What was she thinking?

I can’t even guess.

Searching for a fit solution?  This isn’t it.  I know.  I’ve tried it several times with the same result.  Might as well pin tassels on them.

I know we should revel in our sexy, busty “girls,” but sometimes they are just a problem.  Think V neck and stockinette.

Not trying to be mean; just learning from other’s mistakes.

And while I’m thinking about it, I just want to say thank you to those of you who post your finished work on Ravelry and include a picture of the garments on your body.  Even if it doesn’t fit as well as you would like, seeing a knitted sweater pattern on a real human body without any extra pins in the back is so helpful to other knitters.  Chop your head off if you don’t want to put on makeup or comb your hair.  I’m especially greatful for the ample girls who help me out here.

I’ve been searching for a summer sweater to make for Meghan.  This isn’t easy.  She likes things pretty plain and I don’t want to knit a million rows of stockinette st.  I don’t always agree with her about what looks good on her, so we have to work to discover a style we both like on her in a pattern interesting enough to keep me going to the end.  I’m thinking Buttercup might just be the right pattern.  Heidi Kirrmaier’s pattern has been a hit and lots of Ravelry folk have knit it.  The neat thing is how many not only posted pictures of the garment on themselves, but also wrote a lot about how they modified the pattern.

First thing I figured out was that it was big.  Meghan likes wide necks but if I make her the medium I would have probably cast on, it will fall off of her.  I think the tent shape of the original won’t please Meghan in the end, but many of the knitters simply didn’t do the body increases and their versions look great.  I’d like to use Elsebeth Lavold’s Hempathy because it washes and dries so beautifully and that is important to Meghan.  It also feels great next to your skin and does just drape itself over your body.  It doesn’t have any memory, so fit and shape are extra important.

This sweater is mostly stockinette stitch, but I think the fit challenges are enough to keep me interested.  It may even get some front vertical darts.  The big challenge is in convincing her to give it a go.  She’s in a pretty good mood right now.  DGS got into his first choice school in the local lottery—German Immersion—so the world is currently a happy place for all of us.

Steve is cutting a hole in our back door to install a dog door for Jake.  Makes me realize how low pressure knitting really is.  Carpenters rarely have the option of frogging.

2 Responses

  1. Ooh but did you see that one on the pattern page that the knitter modified to have some feather and fan at the bottom? Very lovely.

  2. have you considered the minimalist cardigan from interweave?

Leave a Reply

