• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 314 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Another one joins the cult!

I am so addicted to knitting socks!  I love it!  I finished the 3 pair I had started and they look great.  I did the star toe on first, will not do that again, I much prefer the wedge toe.  I am also attempting to do a toe up sock.
My only problem now is that I cannot stop buying sock yarn!  I guess there could be worse addictions.
Seriously, thank you for making socks a very enjoyable lesson and one that will go on and on!

******************************************************************************************************************

Fern sent me this email.  She was in my latest sock class.  (Next one starts in mid April.)  Those of you who have never tried socks should be forewarned.  Knitting is an obsession, but sock knitting is an addiction for all but a precious few who simply were meant to knit other things.  Even the most expensive sock yarn is not ruinous and you only need 100 grams, one tenth of a sweater amount.  Some of my favorites:Cherry Tree Hill Supersock–an old standby.  These are Moody Blues and Peacock and are destined for male feel.  The Moody Blues is much more subdued.  Superwash merino and great spin and stitch definition.  Wears like iron.

Louet’s Gem merino yarn.  This too is loved for its spin and its stitch definition.  Some of my favorite socks were knit from it.  I have some of the 50 gram solids earmarked for some fair isle socks.

What about indie dyers?  Two favorites.

Lotus Yarns.  Melanie is so busy dyeing for wholesalers and sock clubs that it is hard to get her stuff right now.  She should have some on Etsy soon.  The Chakra with cashmere is so fine.  Steve’s feet are aching for the pair I knit him, but won’t let him wear until after I release the pattern which can’t be done until I take some photos.

The Divine Miss Babs who dyes across the mountains in Tennessee created my favorite colorway Cleopatra.  I knit my Like Jazz socks from this.  She used a wonderful base yarn similar to Louet and CTH.  Her work wows me.  She’s also, like Melanie, so darn nice.

Do you knit socks?  Have a favorite yarn?  Let me know.  I’ll always buy sock yarn just to try it.

Leave a Reply

