• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 315 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Awards

I won one.   It was awarded by PfeifferGrad03 who used to visit me at the Sewing Bird.  She’s in grad school now and I am honored she spends some of her very limited free time reading my blog.  Her awards are posted here on her site and you will see some other names you know if you read this blog.  She called me “Charlotte knitting royalty”  which I think I’m going to embroider on a pillow just so Steve will show me the respect I deserve. 🙂
So here are the rules for accepting the award:
1. Put the logo on your blog or within your post.
2. Pass the award to 12 bloggers.
3. Link the nominees within your post.
4. Let them know they received this award by commenting on their blog.
5. Share the love and link to the person from whom you received this award.
My Twelve
Turtlegirl’s Bloggy Thing—  I know she’s already won but this is one of the first I read especially on Tabby Tuesday.  She always has a new something–thought, pattern, technique, and she writes really well in her own voice.  Besides, she’s an adopted daughter.
TECHknitting–This is where it’s at as far as knitting goes IMHO.  The skill in writing this blog is amazing.  It is not easy to explain knitting with no movement.  This resource is invaluable.
better living through knitting–Karen is an amazing woman.  She designs, she teaches, she runs marathons.  She has a line of patterns called Unpatterns which will teach you to knit your own way quite comfortably.  She’s also funny.
Knitting in Color–Nanette keeps me fed on color and great fair isle designs.  I knit my first pair of gloves after buying her selfpublished book on the subject.
Knitcircus–The blog that adjoins the magazine of the same name.  I’ve recently gotten to know Jaala online and enjoy that she makes me aware of newer designers and knitting in Wisconsin.
Abent Vaerksted–Ruth Sorenson’s blog which she so graciously translates for us English only readers.  Her colorwork is amazing and she is very generous with her wisdom.
Ulli’s Blog — is written in German, but she has a translator on the page about halfway down.  Usually it is just huge pictures of socks she has knitted.  She uses Opal yarns often that we don’t see here in the states and she links you to the patterns.  It is amazing how prolific she is. She also is a very proud mom.
Molecular Knitting–Brenda is a scientist.  It’s amazing to me how many science folks knit.  She buys and shares magnificent yarn through her excellent photos.  I like to read her because she seems to like the same patterns I like and finds new ones for me.
Marjut Katajala–Marjut is Finnish and again is nice enough to translate her blog for the English readers.  She is a cat lover and her cats have their own blog.  She posts great photos and has been around a long time.  Her blog is a neat jumping off place to see other European knit sites.
HjemmeUte is from Oslo, a city I fell in love with once.  Her work is superb as are the photos she shares.  The blog is in English.  You will learn a lot from Mariann.
Knitting on Impulse —  Ruth is a marvelous dyer from Whistler, BC, Canada.  Sound familiar?  I discovered her blog just before the 2010 Winter Olympics and she fed us inside info every day throughout the event.  She will delight you with her knit pics and with those of some very muscled men.
Holly Goes Lightly lives here in Charlotte when she isn’t traveling looking for cool things to share.  This isn’t a knitting blog, but the photos Holly shares brighten my day and she keeps me thinking about clean design.  Actually she did take a class from me, but her real addiction is classic designs with a unique perspective.
6 Responses

  1. Thanks, J! I’m honored!
    I’ll try to post more often, particularly since you did me the honor of calling me funny. ; )

  2. Thanks your kind words and award. I am honored.

  3. Thanks for my award! I’m also glad to know I’m not the only one who reads knitting blogs in languages I can’t understand! 🙂

  4. Thank you so much!

  5. Thank you so much, I feel very flattered and honored.

  6. Thanks so much Jane! I feel honored to receive this and am glad I haven’t completely bored you with my random ramblings. Haven’t had time for much knitting with my vintage ‘shops’ and design projects (in addition to my full time job), but hope to get started very soon on some items I’ll be offering for sale this winter…
    Hope all is well with you and thanks again!
    -Holly

Leave a Reply

