• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 315 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Weavette arrived!

No, I’m not looking for another hobby.  Think of it as a remembrance of my childhood combined with a need to use up scrap yarn and a need for embellishment.  Or just think of it as I wanted it.

With the help of the instruction booklet, I whipped up a sample. Lesson learned: don’t use boucle yarn.


Lesson learned: sport weight cotton yarns with be very sheer. This has all kinds of possibilities. Edges, sew on patches, scarf pieces.

I bought mine from Lois Scarborough at http://www.bountifulspinweave.com. It’s fun and portable and mindless.

FYI–If you like Plymouth Sockotta sock yarn, and I do, Discontinued Brand Name Yarn has it on sale for $5.49 per 100 gr ball. I bought Steve and I 5 balls.

4 Responses

  1. Hi Jane,
    I have my first grandson arriving on June 6. Which fiber would you say is the coolest to make a coming home outfit out of- cotton, silk, or bamboo? Or maybe you have another suggestion.

    Donna

  2. How about that Sirdar Baby Bamboo at the shop? I think it is washable.

    Sent from my iPad

  3. Gosh, Jane, what memories that little weaving frame brings back for me too! I like the open weave effect … a recent catalogue from Nordstrom showed several skirts with a frayed hem and/or applied frayed trim — I’m thinking you could make old skirts look new again using this technique! Have fun with it!

    kb

  4. Jane, I have a 2″ square Weavette. I’ve used it to make tiny little loom blooms, as seen in the winter 2005 Spin-Off. I’d be glad to loan you that issue if you want. Here’s one that I did. http://www.flickr.com/photos/93468786@N00/492570484/

Leave a Reply

