• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 314 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Double Knitting

Occasionally I will buy one of the British knit magazines.  The really good yarns from England are readily available in the states so seeing what is being made with them there is interesting.  This magazine which should still be on the stands (Try Barnes and Noble where I got this one.) has a great pattern for a scarf and hat in double knitting.  I love colorwork of all kinds, but haven’t really done any with this technique.

I took the mag to the hospital for Steve’s arm surgery. (He’s doing great.)  I thought the amount of concentration this would take would keep my mind busy and not thinking about what horrible things could happen as is my wont.

Well, it worked.  This is just a practice swatch with the tutorial, but it was fun and I just might get around to making at least the scarf.

I do subscribe to some knitting mags and I have a hefty library of them upstairs.  I never throw one away.  Magazines give me ideas, websites to search, techniques to learn, info on yarns.  I almost never like the patterns, so don’t let that stop you from buying.  I find that a year later I love the patterns.  I call it an inspiration investment.  Think about it.

More later–

Leave a Reply

