• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 314 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

How many times can you knit the same yarn?

This is Seduce from Berroco.  I love the way it looks and the bumpiness of its texture.  I want to wear it near my face.  I want to combine it with a solid color to bring out the purple in it.  I’m having trouble figuring out how to do all that.

It was going to be a vest

then a jacket

now a round yoke sweater.  Maybe.  I’ve never knit one before, so designing with one is iffy.

I read that bodies with narrow shoulder and big bottoms looked good in yoked sweaters with some color interest. The yoke draws the eye up and balances the bottom so the theory goes.  Okay, I’m in.

I got out my construction bibles and began to read.  Worked some of the formulas and began to plan. Started knitting without really doing a swatch.  Hey–I’ve knit this yarn twice already–three times including the swatch I did knit before the vest thing.  Surely I know it’s gauge.  (Words to eventually eat.)

The row gauge is a bit off, but I’ll just add some extra.  I’ll keep you posted.  Some of my students have commented that it is very motivating to know that more experienced knitters make mistakes.  I’m happy to oblige.

I want to make the body of the sweater in a solid color contrasting yarn.  I took some pictures to help me decide which to use.  or

I think I’ll go with the purple.  I already have a swatch.

More later–

Leave a Reply

