• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 315 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Camp is next week

My Sister Knits--Ft. Collins, Co

It is almost time for knitting camp in Colorado.  The air will be dry and the Fat Tire will be fresh.

Nancy Bush is teaching.  The materials list is mostly sock and lace yarns.  We are going to learn braids and bobbles and knit an Estonian lace sampler.  I hope to learn more about Estonia as well.  Nancy is the expert on the place and their knitting tradition.  Her book Folk Socks if one of my most thumbed resources and I have great respect for her knowledge.  Rumor is that she has a new book in the works with Interweave Press, so maybe I can get some advance info.

How to pack is the current question.  I don’t want to check a bag.  Fortunately no one cares what I wear, so clothes are simple:  skirt for the plan, shorts for class!  Edie will bring half her yarn shop and tempt me to buy great yarns.  Then there will be trips to Lambspun and My Sister Knits.

Lamspun of knitting mystery story fame

My one carry-on bag won’t hold any extra yarn, but I have vowed not to buy any yarn this trip.

There’s always UPS.

I’ll keep in tough through the hotel’s computer and will share what I learn after I return.  If Mary Pat bring her computer (she drives), I may be able to upload some pics.  I wish I could take every knitter I know with me.  It’s so laid back and encouraging and fun.

Next year we get Nancy Marchant and brioche knitting.

Sally on our Greece trip

In 2012 we will host Sally Melville.  Let me know if you want in on this.

More later–

7 Responses

  1. I wish I were joining you at Camp this year. I look forward to your posts and photos. I’m sure you will love Nancy Bush.

  2. You will be missed. Maybe next year?

  3. Hi Jane – looking forward to seeing you. I’ll have my computer with me.

    Barbara and I were just e-mailing about the great times we had together. Sure do miss her since she moved to Wisconsin.

  4. I am jealous! LOL So tempted with Sock Summit next year and talk of different camps to go to.

    ps: Hope you had a great birthday!

  5. You should go. No one can ever take away the memories from a trip like this. Not even a recession.

  6. I am about to become an enabler….again.

    When I have a full bag I can always find room to pack one size or another of the USPS Flat Rate boxes. I print a pre-paid label addressed for home from the USPS website and pack the both. I limit my yarn purchases to what I can cram in that box…slap the label on and hand it the Concierge or drop it in the closest postal box.

  7. Well, of course, you are a genius!

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

