• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 314 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Walker Treasury

Barbara Walker.  The other great Mother of Modern Knitting.  The market is full of stitch dictionaries, many in full color, but none rivals any of the five published by Barbara Walker for depth and learning.  So once upon a time, some knitters got together and made color happen.  They created an online database where they and their knitsibs could post pictures of the patterns in the Walker books in living color—and talk about them.

The patterns are copywritten, so to knit these items, you must own the books—and why would you not?  I recently joined the group.

I have LEARNED to love to swatch.  It was clearly a learning process, and I’m glad I pursued it.  I will knit a swatch just to see what it looks like when I finish.  That’s all.   Now I can give it a purpose.  I can photograph it and post it to this site so others can get a full color view of a new st/color pattern.

Here is my first one.  It is called Shadow Box Pattern, and it looks like lots of little windows in slanted sunshine.  I started with the green as the third color, but it didn’t pop; I changed to the turquoise which I liked better.  I think this would be an interesting color exercise if you did a swatch using the same three colors but changing where you put each.  Each would be the A, then the B, and finally the C color.  If you do this, send me a picture.

I expected something different from this next one, but was more than pleased with the result.  This looks very complicated, but isn’t.  It is slip stitch knitting where you only use one color at a time.  I really like the three colors I chose.  I should try to figure out why, like is it the value placement or something, but I’m content just to like them.

This is Four Color Fancy Pattern.  I learned a new trick with this.  I carried the three colors up the side rather than do an insane cut and weave-in thing.  The selvedge I used worked wonderfully.

If you look closely at the right selvedge, you can see that it bulges at the beginning and then gets smooth.  The bulging edge was when I worked the last st in the wrong side row, then took the new color from under all the others hanging on the edge and started the next color on the RS row.

To get the edge smooth, I used a selvedge I learned from Horst Schultz in one of his Patchwork Knitting books years ago.

WS row:  Work all except the last st.  Slip the last st to your LH needle purlwise.  (Yes, this leaves the working yarn in a funny place.)

RS row:  K the first st (the slipped one) through the back loop.  This will twist it and make a neat chain edge.  If you are carrying several colors up the edge, this will gather them and carry them upward behind the 2nd st instead of the first, which means they will not form a bulge on the selvedge.

I feel clever.   Actually it was dumb luck, but that’s how I figure out most things and I’m grateful.

Now that you have acquired a new tip, it’s time to mosey over to the Walker Project site and look around.  Maybe you will want to volunteer;  maybe you’ll just want to look.  And yes, there is a Walker Treasury group on Ravelry.

Caveat:  If you decide to join, the website is fidgity.  Volunteer group and all that.  But people will help.

Leave a Reply

