• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 314 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Wraparound Eyelet Shawl Finished

I bought this pattern through Ravelry.  The shawl was designed by Tess Young and I wanted to see how she placed her increases to get this shape.  I had two skeins of Koigu that I bought from Yarnhouse in Noda and a pretty grey fingering weight that I bought somewhere.  Sorry, I just don’t remember and the label was gone.

I started this just before leaving for Australia.  I wanted yarn a bit thicker than the laceweight I was using for another shawl.  I know.  Some of you would never consider fingering weight as “thick” but it’s all relative.  I used a size 5 needle just for the heck of it.

The pattern is simple and extremely well written.  That doesn’t mean I can’t mess it up.  The design calls for the yarnover bit in the pink section to be there on every repeat.  Well, the mind sometimes wanders and suddenly I had knit eight rows of garter stitch—no yarnover pattern.  What to do?  Take it out or make it part of the pattern.   Plan B worked just fine and you would never know if I hadn’t told you.  And I only tell you this for instructional reasons.  Generally, we should just shut up about our mistakes.  Can you find the others?

What do you do when you run out of yarn?  Oft asked question.  You improvise.  But note my ugly bind off

I ran out of the pink before the bindoff.  Okay, I thought, I’ll just bind off with the grey.  So I hastily did, adding the “invisible” beads for weight.  It looked bad.  First, the blips because I failed to prevent them, and I don’t like them.  Some people do and that’s fine.

Second, there is too little grey and it looks like an error—which it is, but we don’t want it to look like it is.  So I grabbed the crochet hook and played.

Making a sample is so much to be preferred than just blasting off and knitting long rows not knowing how it will look.  I know this, I just sometimes forget. This sample worked for me.  It covered the blips and added enough grey to look like I intended this from the start—which in future I will claim.

Ergo, never pull it out until you have thought about what else it can be or talked to some fellow knitters for their ideas.


I highly recommend this pattern.  The drape over the shoulders if wonderful and the ends curl beautifully in front.  It won’t fall off.  It can easily be made larger if you should wish, but this size works nicely as both shawl and scarf.

Less than 500 meters of fingering weight yarn and can be made of sock yarn scraps.

More later—-

6 Responses

  1. Wow. That is pretty. I’ll have to check out that pattern. Keep having adventures for all of us stuck at home.

  2. Ooh I love it! Great shape. Love the crocheted edging. You planned that all along because you knew it would look so great. 😉

    Is that maybe the Miss Babs you got at the retreat?

  3. Looks great, Jane! Will have to add it to my long list of ‘to knit for me’! I always appreciate how you can turn a mis-step into something creative! Liked the shawl with your hot pink (?) Tee; wondering if it will also work with the gray stripe shift I think you made recently!

    Take care,

    kb

  4. YOu are amazing. Have a new grand daughter to brag about. Jennifer Nicole Watson born Nov. 15. Big girl 7 1/2 lbs. She is well so far and I will see her later today.

  5. Can’t wait to see the pictures and hear the stories about how her older sister is reacting. I wonder if Jessica will dominate her as Erica did Meghan.

  6. I think you did a lovely job and have convinced me I desperately need to knit one of these. I fully agree with your philosophy about the difference between an error and a design element, and when NOT to share that tidbit. Thank you for sharing you rproject and the details. You may have even convinced me I need to try a bit of crochet!

Leave a Reply

