• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 314 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Kaalund Yarns

The first yarn Liz showed me from her stash was a ball of Kaalund Enchante.  I was hooked.  She promised to take me there and I was ready to go.  If you look at the stupid picture of me with one of the owners above, you will see my hands tensed.  I couldn’t stop picking out stuff to buy.

My picture of these silks just doesn’t do them justice.  They are so vibrant and saturated.  The colors are lovely with a range from bright to muted.  Many of these colorways are repeated and mixed in the two-ply wool lace weight as well.  They have just started dyeing 8 ply wool, DK, and it has been so successful that it will be a new line.

These are the 12-ply silks which come in 10 meter packages.  You can separate them to make whatever size strand you wish.  They are perfect for embroidery of course, but I see them as a great way to embellish what you knit or even to sneak in a bit of a different color with the handpaint silks.

Their samples are very simple which I find appropriate.  If your yarn is gorgeous, don’t clutter it with stitch pattern.  Consider this a rule.  The scarves in the picture above are one skein scarves in open stitch patterns.

This ombre shawl has a bit more patterning, but still lets the color talk.

This totally simple shawl really intrigued me.  I love how the unstructured edge draped into a cowl-like effect.  This may inspire some design work.

This was a favorite.  I love the blue color and the embellishment.  It’s also designed a bit differently from most cabled tea cosies I have seen.

Speaking of inspiration, these two pictures are from the work/design area.  These are two wall hangings from Ikea which hold little designs and swatches which are being considered.  Yep, I’m getting one of those circle things for my studio.

The loom held a silk scarf being woven from several shades of offwhite.  But note the colorful silks in waiting.

Our hostess was working on making butterflies.  Adorable.

Yes, I bought. And I will probably go back and buy more now that I have had time to think.  But you will have to wait to see what I choose.  I’m hoping to interest Remi in this yarn for the shop.  It is the nicest I’ve seen in forever.

More later–

4 Responses

  1. The question is now: How much is it going to cost you to get this stuff home in your luggage? Feel free to ship to me if you want to send it ahead of time.

  2. I brought disposable clothes–or old ones that I can trash if I need the room. Yarn is always more important than clothes. Besides, lace yarn is very small. But thank you. I have so much to thank you for.

  3. Hi jane,

    Great photos and sounds like a fun day … just remember your dear friend who is an avid tea drinker and loves that tea cozy design! 🙂

  4. Hi Jane,
    Since I met you at Tangled Yarns last week, I have been following your blog, & would you believe discovering some of Brisbane along with it! And I live here! I’m planning to go visit Kaalund’s store today, I didn’t know it even existed! Glad to hear that you’re enjoying it all so far. Sounds like you’re going to be busy with all of your knitting ventures! Hope to see you again!

Leave a Reply

