• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 314 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

I can felt!!!!


This is Geraldine.  She not only teaches you scrumbling and crochet techniques if you ask; but mention you can’t wet felt and she will take you in hand.

After quilt shopping Annabel and I stopped by Threads and More.  We had late morning tea.  Annabel is a GP so I followed her health regimen and had espresso and chocolate cake which Linda, the owner, made.  Even if you don’t knit, you need to visit the café.  Man, that woman can bake.

I explained my years of attempting to felt, even with my buddy Jay’s help and advice, but all I get is hands full of fiber.

Geraldine scrounged up some bubble wrap and I bought some roving and she gave a lesson to Annabel and me.  We learned to lay down the fiber and a few special tricks.  Then she rolled the three pieces into the bubble wrap and dry rolled it to show me how.

Home I went with all three pieces, a set of instructions and some optimism.

I love them.

Now I want to do big pieces and pieces on fabric and I did not need to add another hobby to my list and Liz just emailed that The Mountain Spinnery is moving and is selling off their stock of fibers and we have to go there on Friday.  Whew!  No wonder I caught a cold.

Oh, I’ve been continuing to scrumble because as I said before, you can’t stop.

Seeing Australia?  It’s been raining for several days which has curtailed any sight seeing.  Besides, I don’t have time.  I have to learn all this stuff while I can.

Don’t worry—I’ll share.

More later–

2 Responses

  1. Why am I picturing a felted scrumbled quilt in our future?
    I’m very glad to hear that you plan on sharing all of this. Perhaps a slide show with props?

  2. Jane, the felted pieces look great. I bet they feel good too.
    Only take the doctor’s advice when it concurs with your own wishes.

Leave a Reply

