• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 315 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Mountain Spring Shawl

Mountain Spring Shawl

Having a beautiful model never hurts when you show off your knitting.  Thanks, Donna.

I knit this using the new Charlotte Yarn  Yarn, The Girls Collection, Patsy’s Mountain Bluebird colorway designed by Cat Babbie.  This is my favorite colorway—today anyway.  But I still love Jane’s Blackberry Cobbler.

This is a merino wool and it is so soft and cuddly.  I swatched this in many stitches and decided I liked the stockinette best for showing off the colors.

The shawl is designed to hug you and stay on your shoulders even during vigorous activity.  Let’s all pause and reflect on that, but don’t put down your knitting.  I’ve been chasing this perfect shaping of a shawl for several years and I think I’ve finally got what I wanted.  Kudos to all the designers who came before and from whom I’ve learned.

The pattern will be available for test knitting soon.  It’s very easy, just some stockinette, some garter and a very simple lace border.  The secret is in the increases.  Because the yarn is worsted weight, it knits up very quickly so makes a good last minute gift.

Can you tell I’m pleased with this?  It took a lot of work to get to this simple.

Don’t forget to enter the Knitcircus contest.   You have until Sunday night.  Click here for details.

More later–

5 Responses

  1. You should be pleased with it. It looks perfect!

  2. It looks lovely! The shawl showcases the colorway.

  3. I love this pattern and can’t wait to have it available! Thank you for it being simple but very classy.

  4. Love this pattern. I am a big fan of Turtlegirls Bloggy Thing – and Calvin and Ripple, so I already saw the colors, and I love the color of the yarn as well. When will the pattern be available?

  5. This is lovely, Jane, reminds me of the shoulder toppers you’d see in an Austen film. I’d love the opportunity to test knit it when you’re ready 🙂

Leave a Reply

