• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 328 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Knitting Jewelry

I taught a class at the Carolina Fiber Frolic called Knitting With Beads.  The week before Creative Knitting came out with a pattern for a necklace that I thought folks might enjoy.

First try

Yarn is Katia Bombay which I love.  I didn’t like the techniques the pattern used to place the beads so I tweaked it some.  Had the findings to fasten it in the stash so just sewed them on.

Second necklace

Fiddled with the pattern some more.  But I still have issues with the bead placement.  Cindy, in my class, made great suggestions.  Everyone else jumped in with ideas.  I plan to work on this some more.

Of course, class flew off in another direction and we decided to make some bracelets.  In the spirit of crazy lace and freeform knitting, I give you random bead technique.

Beads placed randomly

I just strung on a “bunch” (technical jargon) and pushed one up whenever I thought about it while telling stories with the other knitters.  Freeing and fun.  Try it.

I put the necklaces on Ravelry and received a nice note from Laura Nelkin who designed it.  Her website has some great designs, some of which you probably have seen before.  Check it out.  Look at the unique use of beads on her Eventide scarf.

Met with the Top Down Sweater class yesterday and had lots of fun.  We are setting in the sleeve now and newbies are cursing short row wraps.  I’m toying with a slightly new way to do them and will let you know if it works.

I really promise to get the shawl pattern out to test knitter volunteers this week.  Start nagging if I don’t.  I respond to nagging.

Bella is doing well on her special diet and meds.  The pancreatitis seems to be at bay.  Jake actually likes her W/D food; it’s thick and bland.  Maybe he just likes it because it is hers.

More later–

One Response

  1. do you have a pattern for your skirt… I am interested!

Leave a Reply

