• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 328 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Insanely working and finishing stuff

A belated Happy Mother’s Day to all.

I have been happily knitting, crocheting, quilting, sewing, and even reading.  The Book Thief–clever and inspiring.

My skirt class didn’t make, which surprised me.  So many people oohed and aahed over it at the shop.  Perhaps they just didn’t want to start such a big project right now.  Next time I think I’ll advertise it as making a small skirt for a doll or a child just to learn the process.

Speaking of small projects, Remi gave me some yarn to play with and I am trying to put together some summer projects that double as gifts.  Mine look like a collection because they are all made from the same four skeins of yarn.  It will be free patterns when I finish.  Think baskets and small purses.

Off the needles is Maggie Mae, named after one of my favorite songs.  Thanks to the beautiful Susan for modeling it at the shop this week.

I used stash yarn.  Maggi’s Cotton from Irish knitter Maggi Jackson’s yarn line.  It is 70% cotton and 30% viscose (rayon).  It is a bumpy, bumpy yarn.  Fifty grams yields only 77 yards but, knit on size 9 needles, that goes a long way.

As usual with highly textured yarns, I kept it very simple.  Most of the shawl is stockinette.  I switched to garter st for the last 3 inches or so.  The shape is such that it won’t fall off, even if the wind blows.  I just love that I can strut around doing whatever without holding onto my shawl.

The back is again above the waist which is more flattering to us short girls I think.  Best of all is how bouncy, scrunchy this yarn feels when knit up.  I plan to search out more if it is available.  I’ve had this a long time.  The label calls it Luxury Hand Knitting Yarn and it feel that way to me.

The Autumn Jewel bag is about finished.  I have lined it and am starting the embellishments.  I always take a long time thinking about beads and stuff.  I think I am afraid of doing too much.

Straps are always a pain to me.  I want this one long enough to go across the body, but also adjustable.  Short people like adjustable.  (I wish my kitchen cabinets were adjustable.)

Anyway, here’s a technique I discovered in my mixed media researches.  Machine made cording.  Perfect for knitters when you are using a bunch of different yarns.

I took a few of the yarns in Autumn Jewel and lightly twisted them together by hand.  Then I ran them through my sewing machine using a zigzag stitch wide enough to cover them.  I also used a novelty thread made of rayon which had similar colors (like a handpaint) and a nice sheen.

I think I need to add one more kind of cord or else chain this with a crochet hook to make it thicker.  Too thin a strap can be uncomfortable.

That’s all for today, but there are more to come.  Not writing patterns every time you work means you can do so much more.  The St. John’s Wort is blooming outside my window, so I am thinking about yellows.

More later–

3 Responses

  1. You are right – I LOVE your skirt but either the timing or the fear stopped me. I am hippy and think its a great pattern. Is there a place to get the pattern and I may can try on my own?

    Is the Maggie Mae pattern available? I really like the front hangy part – You are so creative, I admire you!
    Donna

  2. I haven’t written any of the patterns you want yet. As to the skirt, since you are in town, you can try on my skirt. It isn’t so much a pattern as a process: waistband, get it over your hips, the flare you like, the length you like, any trim you like. If you want to do a private lesson and we can design a skirt for you, let me know.

  3. Love the Maggie Mae shawl (and song and my middle name almost) – perfect for the spring weather here – mid-sixties to seventies. So I’ll be checking my stash although, bumpy yarns aren’t usually my thing.

    The purse looks great — and as an accessory, you can never have too many beads or embleshments!

Leave a Reply

