• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 328 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Japonica

I made something from someone else’s pattern and didn’t change it.  Of course, I’ve never made adult crochet garments before, so that made it easier to be led by someone else.

This vest came from a book of Japanese patterns brought to me from Japan by two awesome knitting students.  I’d tell you who designed it, but there is not a word of English on this book.

As with many Japanese patterns, this was a chart.  Totally a chart and nothing else.  Even a chart in pieces.  But it was amazingly easy to follow.  The symbols for the stitches are the universal crochet symbols.  As for size, I just used my swatch to determine the number of repeats I needed.

The yarn is a perle cotton what I bought years ago to use for weaving.  It is mercerized so I has a lovely sheen.  I think it is a Pearl 5 size.  It’s like the perle cotton you can use for embroidery and crewel that you buy in 8 yard skeins.   I have cones of it in three colors.  It was soft and easy to work with, so I think you will see something in blue and turquoise in my future.  If you are interested in some similar, try Silk City Yarns or Cotton Clouds.

Here’s a detail of the lace and the front edge.  The bow marks the Right or Public side of the front.  I took it off when I finished.  I use a lot of markers.

If you haven’t learned to crochet yet, take a class or go to youtube.  It is easy and being able to crochet just a little can really help your knitting.  It’s also fast and a great way to work with lace weight yarns easily.

More later–

One Response

  1. I did see this and loved it! So glad you are using the book!

    Maybe I’ll take up crochet next….

Leave a Reply

