• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 328 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Faux Bolero

This was an experiment.  It was inspired by a photo of Courtney Kelley’s “Starboard Cape” in Interweave’s summer 2011 of Knitscene.  Hers is a knit version, simple and quite elegant.  I was attempting to make a crocheted shawl shaped like several I had recently designed in knitted versions.

I actually accomplished it, but it is rough.  Increases in several places have small holes—which maybe I can fix.  The pattern seems to go wonky after several increases for a bit.  Perhaps I should have kept it simpler, but them I wouldn’t have learned so much.

Anyway, when I finished it, I tried using a chain of stitches to form a connection under the arms on both sides.  It took some trial and error to find the best length, about 4 inches, and the best places to join.  I went too far forward on the front to begin with.  Finished, it looks and wears like a short jacket.  The drapyness of the lace makes the sides look like sleeves.  It may just be a lucky accident.  I have notes, but am not willing to try to recreate it at this moment.  So far it has no edge finishes, but I like the plain look.

The yarn is a wonderful cotton by Isager which is discontinued.

Leave a Reply

