• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 328 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Edna turns 93

You know Steve planned the cake.  No one else would have thought of Roman numerals.  He really is so sweet to his mom.

This is Edna with her oldie but goodie blue walker.  The bag was her gift from me and I had a ball designing and making it.  I was so pleased about how much she liked it.

This is the side that she sees as she walks.  I machine quilted around most of the big flowers and added the pocket for a quick place to hold a note or whatever.  The straps are fastened with velcro for easy on and off.This is the front which was free motion quilted (my first).  The initials are on pink taffeta which is also used for the lining.  The lace trim was given to me by BFF Katherine Neal; she brought it to me from her Italy trip.  Inside are several pockets.

I had to figure out how to use fusing, interfacing, the order of sewing to best not show the inside seams.  I wanted it to be a surprise, so after a Peruvian dinner, when we went to Meghan’s to have cake, Meghan helped me steal the walker and I finished the straps by hand so they would fit.  It took me a week, but I’ll get faster.  I really loved the figuring out and the learning part.

I also really loved having Zachary here.  And his beloved Zelda.  Moses, too.

One Response

  1. I LOVE the Roman numeral idea!

    The bag is terrific! It looks like a wonderful size–large enough for a book, glasses case, all the things a 93-year-old can’t exactly run back for, if she forgets something. And you definitely want her to keep both hands on her driving! I think you came up with the perfect bag opening.

Leave a Reply

