• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 328 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

What else I learned at camp

At any knitting conference, I learn as much from other knitters as I do from the instructors.  Here’s a few things I learned from fellow campers.

Betty Dong, Photographer

First, check your camera for the flash card before packing.  I left mine at home, but have been rescued by Betty Dong who took all of the pictures I am posting from camp.  She even let me download them from her card before I left Colorado.  Thanks, Betty.

This is Betty H.’s afghan for grandchild #6.  Every year Betty gives a birthday sweater to each grandchild under 13.  Then on the 13th birthday, they each get an afghan designed to their own personality.  This is Betty’s tradition.  Betty is way too smart to try to knit for a teenager, so the knitted gifts promise ends there.

Betty's afghan

This afghan is not due until next year, but #6 and #7 are twins, so she started this one early.  What I learned from Betty is to beware when you establish a tradition.  What sounds good for one or two grandchildren can become a real challenge for 7.

Ann is another veteran of camp and a marvelous knitter.  This is her new jacket which she is knitting from some recycled silk she found hiding in her stash.  It is beautiful and fits perfectly as all of her sweaters do.  But—–it weighs about  50 pounds.

I learned to use those three skeins of recycled silk in my  stash in projects one at a time.  Or to start working out before I knit a vest.

My Mentor

Mary Ellen is my mentor and I have written about her many times.  It is her attitude that I want to pass on to other knitters.  This year she brought another intricately cabled jacket.

Adding a pocket

As she began to talk about it, she began the “well, I just did this . . . .I didn’t want that so I left it out . . . . I like pockets so I
created some patch pockets . . . . anyone can do this . . . .just make it to suit you and not the pattern . . .I think the yarn is too soft for this design, but it is still warm.”

Mary Ellen always reminds me that I am in charge of my own knitting and to learn from each project and move on.  I hope this is also what I teach.

Sally Jo is a new camper from Denver.  She brought the hat from the front of Boutique Knits by Laura Irwin.  I love this hat.

Sally Jo's Boutique Knits hat

She also brought a short row scarf I have seen online before.

Even cooler is the hat she created by combining some principles from each of those patterns.

The lesson here is to use the parts of patterns you like to make new things.  I love it when someone does this with one of my patterns.

Maggie is the high school friend of my roomie, and she told me some interesting stories.  She usually knits for friends and one requested this cabled scarf made from Muench Touch Me, clearly the world’s most touchable yarn.

Maggie and Muench scarf

Maggie was disappointed in the scarf, but tried a version in a wool for her friend’s husband.

Voila!  This is how the scarf is supposed to look.

This is a great reminder that all yarns don’t work for all patterns.  This is another reason I swatch.

Beverly brought two new campers with her and they taught the best lesson of all.

In our first multiple show and tell, they showed us the fun of knitting with friends.  One pattern, three yarns, three very different sweaters.

When you find a pattern you love, use it often.  No one will know, and you will have quick knits that fit.  I have four versions of
the Zen Sweater—none of them in Zen yarn.

More later.

4 Responses

  1. Really enjoyed reading this post. I love my needle group that I belong to, but we don’t always do out show and tell, which to me to me is really important.

  2. Thank you so much for these pictures. Show & Tell is my favorite part of camp.

    Hope I’ll be able to be there next year.

  3. Jane, it’s obvious you had lots of fun at summer camp! Love the hats and all the other projects shared! Gee, I’m thinking a knitting camp is a great way to relive the fun of summer camp (minus the major love crushes!) as an adult.

  4. Enjoyed my five minutes of camp… thanks!

Leave a Reply

