• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 328 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Thank you, Mary Ellen

My Mentor

Mary Ellen Meisters was my knitting mentor. I’ve written about her before.

I wrote about meeting her 10 years ago at a Colorado Knitting Camp. I wrote about her recommendation that I stop at the Brown Sheep Company on my way to Devil’s Tower. I wrote about how much Steve liked her when we ran into her at the factory and lunched at a Slovakian bakery in a nearby town.

Most of all, I have written about Mary Ellen,the mother who had such a great relationship with her adult children and their spouses. It was Mary Ellen who inspired me to take my non-knitting daughter to Camp Stitches to a dye class, a really special weekend for me.

I am just one of hundreds, maybe thousands, of women inspired by Mary Ellen’s life. She taught all of us compassion, courage, patience, and grace, as well as a lot about knitting. I only saw her once a year, for less than a week, but her influence is always with me.

And, being Mary Ellen, she is teaching me even in death. The obituary from the Lincoln paper tells of one of her last wishes–no formal funeral service. Instead, this Sunday, the knitters of Lincoln, Nebraska, will gather at a local yarn shop to knit, snack, and remember this extraordinary woman. I’ll be teaching at my LYS, but I’ll be in Lincoln in spirit.

5 Responses

  1. Amen to that! She was a very special lady!

  2. Thanks for the pictures Jane. I remember well when she steeked that sweater at camp. She was a lovely lady, and so kind to me. I remember mentioning once that I wanted a particular book, and the next camp she gave me the one she had. I’m so glad that I knitted her a pretty scarf out of some laceweight yarn she gave away one year.

    Rest in peace Mary Ellen, you’ll be missed.

  3. what a wondeful lecacy to a well lived life. her children a testament..
    ty for sharing!

  4. Beautifully stated! Thank you for expressing what so many of us feel.

  5. a beautiful tribute… she will be missed… Linda Walters

Leave a Reply

