• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 328 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Finished a few things

A beret for me.  This is another Nancy Marchant free pattern, Whirlybird (I think), which I had to alter a bit because I used DK weight yarn for a heavy worsted wt. pattern.  I just repeated some rows and it looks great.  I used one skein of Manos Silky Worsted for the handdye and one of Sirdar Baby Bamboo in the wine solid.  The bamboo luster looks great.  The beret is the smallest I’ve made.  Gauge matters, folks.   Like it on me.

This is my first brioche pattern.  It is knit bottom up, using an adjustable rib band, and is worked in cotton.  I created it for a class for brioche beginners.  It begins with a large band of 2 color stockinette brioche to keep it simple while they learn the rhythm, and then uses the brioche decreases to close the top.

The adjustable band is a simple 1×1 rib larger than the projected head size.  When you finish the beret, you sew the band together with a nice button to achieve a perfect fit.  This will also allow you to easily resize the band if the cotton stretches too much.

My latest version of Carole Metzger’s necklace.  It used fingering weight hemp from my stash (an old Elann yard no longer available) with glass and metal beads.  I am about ready to create my own pattern to suit my personal likes and dislikes.  I’ll share.

Last—and not a knit project–is my fabric paint project.  I do not paint, nor draw.  No talent there.  But I can trace a template and then just fake it.  I used acrylic paint with a product from Golden that turns acrylics into fabric paints.  I mixed green and black randomly.  I mixed purple with black.  I painted the leaf totally in one of my greens and then added dabs and whatevers wherever to try to give it dimension and texture.  It is still too bright, even after I watered down the purple/black to make a wash and sponged it on.  However—–I like it.

I like t0 read Interweaves Quilting and Crafty mags.  I love some of the projects, but you have to make them to get them.  I decided to try.

I learned this:  You do not have to be any good at a craft to have fun doing it.  You also don’t have to be any good to produce something that you like.  Seriously.  So try something new.

More later–

2 Responses

  1. Both of your last closing statements are very true! I do love to dabble. I love your necklace.

  2. Everything looks good but I love, love, love that fabric painting!

Leave a Reply

