• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 328 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Sunset on the Marsh cowl

Purple side up

This is what I made from the yarn I spun for the Carolina Fiber Frolic contest.  I really like how I solved some problems.  This colorway is amazing, but it doesn’t flatter my skin.  So I mixed it with two solids–yellow Malabrigo worsted and Seldridge Farms purple superwash worsted that is even softer than the Malabrigo.

I used these two solids to knit a 3 color linen st (center) and knit the Sunset colorway in my favorite seed stitch by itself.

The difference in the natural gauge of these two stitches gave the cowl a bit of a pouf without resorting to increases/decreases.  The purple is a one by one rib with a picot cast off.

Now here’s the cool part—-

You can wear it with either side up.  The linen stitch up way above emphasizes that stitch detail and the mix of the colors.  The purple up way still shows the stitch detail, but puts the purple, a good color for my skin tone, next to my face.  I feel so clever.

I used a crochet cast on which matches a normal chain bindoff.

I did crochet the bind off–because it is faster than knitting it and you get the same effect.

Every five stitches, I made a picot by chaining 3 and then slip stitching in the first chain.  It took maybe 100 yards of the handspun and the purple.  Less of the Malabrigo.  Cast on 150 sts on a size 8 needle.  If doing over, I would decrease the cast on number some for a bit closer fit.

Super easy and quick to knit.

More later–

One Response

  1. Beautiful. I was waiting to see what you did with that yarn. A very nice solution.

Leave a Reply

