Daily Archives: April 13, 2012

Shopping the Frolic

What I bought—

From Silver Threads & Golden Needles in Franklin, NC. Amy and Virginia are two of the owners who were at the Frolic (Amy even took a class from me.) and they were so nice and helpful. I bought Habu from them. I’m not sure anyone in Charlotte stocks Habu. Please tell me if I am wrong about this. I still have a little money to spend. ┬áThe merino/stainless on the right will join an all silk(left) and a silk/stainless (center) I bought at a Stitches a few years ago. Probably a couple of scarves will come out of the blending.

This Rayon yarn which is smaller than most of my lace weight is slated to be an Infinite Loop by Olga Buraya-Kefelian. You will want to check out this pattern on ravelry and on YouTube. There are so many ways it can be worn. Takes 2 skeins of yarn at $25 each, over 1100 yards per skein, knit on a size THREE needle. in stockinette. Sounds insane, but what a classic investment piece. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Swatched on size 5 and size 3.

Oh, the yarn feels like scratchy paper to start with. Softens as you knit. Blocking directions say to soak it in lukewarm water for TWO hours and then block width wise. That alone is enough to suck me in. Want to join me? I’m sure Silver Threads will ship to you.

Then I bought the 2013 Frolic color way from Sarah of Copper Corgi. It is amazing. So subtle. She has truly captured the early April mountain sky. A couple of over achievers (Jan and Anne) spun up a bunch and shared it before the Frolic was over. I intend to spin mine and knit something so devastatingly beautiful that I can beat Cindy in next year’s contest. I so wish I had a picture of her shawl that won this year. Incredible.

Finally I bought from Ann Potter whom I adore. I picked out some stuff and left it behind her booth to await payment. She even added some extra mohair locks to one kit “just for me.” When I returned to pay for it, Renate had retrieved it from my unmarked pile and paid for it. I called foul, but Renate just smiled and said I could come over and look at it whenever I wanted. Well, Smarty Pants, I showed her. I bought a new incredibly bizarre batt andtwo braids of a lovely pink and grey colorway.

Thus is the spirit at the Frolic. Actually, we had so much fun that Jan is planning a low key event for fall and the next Frolic is already set for March 22-24, 2013. Same location and I sincerely hope, the same caterer. If you want to find out more, click on the Carolina Fiber Frolic in the top corner of the blog and tell Jan to add you to her mailing list. You won’t be sorry.

More later–

Categories: Personal thoughts, yarn | Tags: , | 5 Comments

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

