• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 328 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

I won, I won, I won . . .

And I didn’t even know I had entered.

Today I posted this watercolor assignment from an online class I am taking on the Flickr group The Sketchbook Challenge.

I just received this email from Sue Bleiweiss, artist and author of the book The Sketchbook Challenge on which the flickr group and a blog is based. She and a huge group of very talented artists are sending me an amazing gift of their work and their favorite supplies. Check it out.

Then take the time to look at some of these folks’ work. Most have written wonderful books, and Jane Lafazio’s workshop From Art Journaling to Art has changed my life. She’s the one who made me realize I could sketch and paint a little something that others would recognize and like. Hoping to do a workshop in person with her next year.

Most teach and their techniques cross the boundaries of all art and craft. Traci Bunkers designed the cutest knit hat I have ever seen. The hat and Traci were featured in Handpaint Country by XRX (Knitters magazine folks) in 2002. Last year I bought her book The Art Journal Workshop which answered a lot of questions about all those products that Golden sells to do stuff to your art.

Sue’s book, The Sketchbook Challenge, is a feast of techniques you can do on fiber and paper and anything else. There are short articles from many of the donors to the prize and you can hear there voices as you read the articles. These guys feel about sharing their art the way the knitting community does about sharing their craft.

This book is at the Char-Meck library here in Charlotte. I know because one of their copies is sitting beside me right now. I promise to return it tomorrow, because my own copy is on its way.

Can you tell I am excited?

More later–

7 Responses

  1. Wow, Jane, you got a lot of gifts coming. That is great news and congratulations. Taking that course was helpful to you!

    chris

  2. Congratulations on your win! You have a HUGE amount of prizes coming your way Jane!

  3. Thanks, Carol, You must live nearby. I love your work. Anyone who keeps a bottle of bones is someone I want to know. Have a few myself.

    Sent from my iPad

  4. Congratulations! A fabric postcard will go in the mail Monday!

  5. Thank you so much. I am anxious to actually hold a fabric postcard in my hands. I’ve seen pictures but it isn’t the same. I love your work, especially the ” War Sucks” piece. The message and the color scheme. It is so kind of you to share with all of us through the Sketchbook Challenge. Your postcard will receive great care and respect in my home. A gift of your work is not to be taken lightly. Thank you again.

    Sent from my iPad

  6. I am not surprised. You are so talented Jane!

  7. thanks so much for the kind words!! So glad you’re sketching and painting……xoxox

Leave a Reply

