• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 328 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Prizes are arriving

Sue’s book is amazing, but I already knew that. She also included a Strathmore Visual Journal. I’ve decided to use it to copy or work in the style of the artists in The Sketchbook Challenge. I think I’ll learn a lot that way. She also included this adorable little notebook which I bet she made. It is a bit smaller than a business card and has a hook so you can attach it to your purse or whatever. Perfect for jotting down ideas on the go.

Sue also included a card made from here work which I will frame—if I can keep Evan’s hands off it.  He really loved this.  The boy has great taste and he’s only 7.

These are the 8.5 X 11 inch stamps from the Backporch Artessa ( I love that name.). I am a poor stamper, so they don’t show their best, but I will get better now that I have these. I’m thinking to use the bead string stamp to make some notecards similar to this; I can just add a card with the sentiment.

This is Jane Lafazio’s video.  I already own it so I will have the chance to share this with someone who needs some inspiration.  This video showed me that I can draw.  Can make art.  She is a fabulous teacher and cheerleader.

Jane also included a card made from her work for me to frame.  I had seen pieces of this from her sketchbook.  I love how she brought several techniques together for this product.

Then fellow North Carolinian Lyric Kinard sent her beading DVD.  This is all about embellishment.  You can see a sample of it at the Interweave Press store.  They are the folks who publish Interweave Knits and my new favorite mag Cloth, Paper, Scissors.  Lyric creates all kinds of fiber art, as well as teaching and writing.

Lyric also sent a card suitable for framing.  Can you tell a whole wall is art is developing here?  The combo of music and dragonfly is so very fitting.  Of course, the purple is perfect.  How did she do those gossamer like wings?

Wednesday I received stamps from Pam Carriker.  These really excite me.  The middle one is Desdemona.  As a former English teacher, I love that.  I can see so many ways to combine these images with words that move me.

My practice stamping wasn’t half bad.  I put them on lots of different papers.  Huge possibilites here.  

The card that Pam sent with her prize has the same romantic, historic quality of the stamps she designed.  The art wall grows as does my gratitude for this opportunity.

Pam also sent her Liquid Graphite which I will show you when I do some sketching with it.

Thanks for bearing with me as I skitter and twirl through all these art prizes.  I am also knitting.  A finished project in the next post.   Promise.

More later–

2 Responses

  1. Love to see all your new things and art

  2. WOW, Jane! what fun, what inspiration! I am sooo excited for you and all the possibilities — can’t wait to see how all this inspires you — no worries, just enjoy playing! XOXO

Leave a Reply

