• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 328 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Many, Many Projects and a Few Resolutions

Every year a GiftThis past year was so wonderfully productive for me.  I learned to do so many different things.  Well, I began the process of learning many things, and any learning is fun for me.

I received the annual report about my blog from WordPress.  No surprise that the top hits were all on knitting pages, especially free patterns.  Well and good.  I put them here to share and am delighted when someone takes them.  But that sort of presents a problem.  I’m not knitting so much anymore, so there will be fewer knitting entries.

I started this blog to share my enthusiasm for knitting.  The key is “share my enthusiasm.”  So I have decided to just continue to do that and not worry.  I am far from an expert at the things I am doing now, but in some ways that is a plus.  My mistakes and uglies may be just the thing that encourages someone else to give it a go.  The creative world I find myself in now with classes, flickr, and the blog world has certainly taught me that it is the journey that brings satisfaction, not the end product.

Here are some pictures of what I did over the holidays.  Not everything.  One of my resolutions is to take better pictures of my work.  I am in the process of building a light box and will shoot some other things when it is finished.

Making wrapping paper personal a la Joanne Sharp.

Making wrapping paper personal a la Joanne Sharp.

Four Calling BirdsMail Art--Fabric, paper, acrylic paint, Sakura Micron pen, fused and quilted

Four Calling Birds
Mail Art–Fabric, paper, acrylic paint, Sakura Micron pen, fused and quilted

The reverse side of Four Calling Birds

The reverse side of Four Calling Birds

A book for the Hulin's to keep a record of their 7 week journey from Australia around the world, even to Charlotte.

A book for the Hulin’s to keep a record of their 7 week journey from Australia around the world, even to Charlotte.

cover and back of book

cover and back of book

End papers of the book

End papers of the book

handmade tapes to define the signatures

handmade tapes to define the signatures

Urban sketching at dinner

Urban sketching at dinner

Ultra wet on wet watercolor following along  with a video on youtube

Ultra wet on wet watercolor following along with a video on youtube

Okay, I have to comment on this one.  It is really ugly, but I learned a lot and believe I can do a better one the second time around.  It was great fun to watch the colors run and to feel so free about it.  Here’s the free video that I watched.  Once I’ve done a better try, I’ll cut this one up and use it for other things.  More about “other things” later.

Batiks and embroidery make Jake

Batiks and embroidery
make Jake

This is still in progress.  The grey background doesn’t work, so I will cut it off after I finish the handwork and may put it on black linen.  I’ll tell you how I did it when it is finished.

Finally–for today anyway–

Tangling--the art form that started this new pathway

Tangling–the art form that started this new pathway

More later–

8 Responses

  1. Beautiful bird, Jane. New year, new things to learn and do!

  2. Please continue to learn and do. I love to read about all these thing.

  3. Thank you, Debra. You are always so encouraging.

    Sent from my iPad

  4. I think it’s wonderful. I would happily frame that bird and hang it on my wall if you ever choose to make prints. Just love it!

  5. Jane it is so interesting to have found you after many, many years. Your talent is inspiring. I still have the cross0stitch you made for me when I was pregnant with Erik, my first child.

  6. Wow. Talk about a voice from the past, and I do mean a voice.

    Sent from my iPad

  7. Would love to see you. Crocheting is more my speed when it comes to yarn. I love crafting of all types and it appears you do as well.

  8. Lots of crocheters at Charlotte Yarn on East Blvd. There is also a nice place to sit with friends.

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

