• Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 328 other followers

  • Creative Commons License

  • Archives

  • Follow Merely a Suggestion on WordPress.com

Thank you, Cat, for asking

(Reposting to get this to Facebook friends.  I hope.)

Moving, especially when you are a senior, is not easy. No matter the draw to new places or the excitement of an adventure, leaving lifelong friends of all ages leaves a hole in your heart.  I’m going through the normal depression of that now. I was feeling like I was purposeless and worried at how little I left the house. I thought my creative life was stagnant. 

Then Cat wrote and asked “What are you making?”  This young woman is clearly clairvoyant. She made me look around and see that I had indeed done some things. Even some I liked. 

I thought I would share them with you. 

Took a drawing class. a 2 min. sketch.

Still collecting lichen for dyeing.

Slowly planning a village street scene.

Some scarves unblocked of course.

Drawing birds to make note cards.

making small notebooks out of marbled paper.

Marbled more paper in 90 deg heat.

Watercolor of one of the millions in the backyard.

Practicing watercolor sketching on back deck.

Trying to spin like Jan Smiley. Failing.

July visit to Philadelphia.

Practising for Fall trip to Arizona and Utah.

watercolor and ink sketch this morning

Steve made this barrier to keep Lexie out of his Bat Cave.

And——I rowed 6 miles on the Broad River in a solo kayak. 

But I still miss my Charlotte friends. All of you. Have not met anyone here yet that comes near to you. 

Maybe today.

More later . . .

10 Responses

  1. Hi, Jane, it’s good to see your e-mail! I’ve moved a lot in my life, and what you are going through is totally normal. It is hard to totally feel settled for a while when you move, especially after being in the previous place for a good long while. You’ve gotten through the physical part of moving your stuff, now your heart has to feel at home. Loved the photos of things you have worked on. You have been busy, and I love the drawing and watercolors you have been doing. Hang in there, and don’t let the down feelings win! – Sallie

  2. You are such a treasure. Thanks for the pep talk. And YOU understood the caption naming Jan as my inspiration.

    On Wed, Aug 10, 2016 at 5:13 PM, Merely a Suggestion wrote:

    >

  3. You’re amazing!

  4. Jane – Come to Jan’s Autumn retreat. We can hang out and eat and make and swap stories!

  5. Thanks. I assume you are referring to my ability to locate the best beer available in any 10 mile radius.

    On Wed, Aug 10, 2016 at 5:27 PM, Merely a Suggestion wrote:

    >

  6. I was actually thinking about that just yesterday. Will you help me with my spinning? It is Steve’s birthday,but he enjoyed the last trip up there. He can hike and then be sarcastic at dinner. Thanks for suggesting it.

    On Wed, Aug 10, 2016 at 5:28 PM, Merely a Suggestion wrote:

    >

  7. It is so wonderful to see your post. I have missed them. You are so amazingly talented and the pictures of your works are beautiful. Keep creating and when you get a chance that visit, let us know.

  8. Hi Jane, I agree with all your other friends! Your talent is amazing! We only met a few times but I thought you were a kind and helpful lady! Also you remember me after one introduction. We all miss you and I also look forward to keeping up to date with you, please keep it up! Hugs to you, Betty

  9. Guys, you are going to make me cry. I plan to print these comments and hang them in my studio. You may blow this depression right out of me.

    Betty, if I can ever help you, just ask.

  10. You are so very kind. But you’ve always been that way. Thank you. On Wed, Aug 10, 2016 at 7:01 PM, Merely a Suggestion < comment-reply@wordpress.com > wrote:

    >

Leave a Reply

