Sock Yarn Blankets

In 2006 Shelly Kang, The Heathen Housewife, began her sock yarn blanket.  In Feb., 2008, she finished it and posted a tutorial on her blog to help others make it.  Find it here.

As a sock knitter, a teacher of sock classes, and a friend to many obsessed with covering their feet in gorgeous, soft, luxurious fibers, I have a lot of little balls of leftover sock yarn.  NEVER throw away leftover yarn.  So many possibilities.  A sock yarn blanket is a natural and so many people have done them in lots of various geometric patterns.  The geometric pattern means you can begin no matter how much or how little yarn you currently have on hand (Yes, you can just buy some for the whole thing, but I’m not made like that.)  I’ve stolen some pics of ones I discovered and linked them to the sites where you can find out what the designer did.  I saved my favorite, and probably the simplest, for last.

This one from Rose-Kim is beautiful, but I don’t think I have the patience for the long, long rows this grows to.

This is the Ten Stitch Blanket by Frankie Brown.  You can get the story and the free pattern through Ravelry or her website.  And this is just one of the great designs she offers using this technique.

Persnickety Knitter used this pattern which lets you really see the yarn’s design as well as mix the colors.

Newly available from Garnstudio are these.

And finally–My Winner.

The simplest and still my favorite is this one from Ulli Stuttgart (wumbs on Ravelry).  Check her blog for her directions and to see  many finished socks.  The woman is a marvel and her work is excellent.  She provides a translator on the site so you can read it and her choices keep me aware of European yarns.

Yes, I’ve put all of my scrap sock yarn in a bag.  Which to do?  If you discover other patterns, please let me know.  If you don’t like to knit sock yarn, make one of these out of whatever weight you do like.  This is a crazy portable and mindless project.

2 thoughts on “Sock Yarn Blankets

Leave a comment